Gluten is hidden in just about everything and that means beauty products. However, most of the time they do not come out and say "wheat" They use other terms to hide the gluten. Please remember that almost all oats are processed with wheat and therefore are not safe.
Showing posts with label Gluten sensitive. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Gluten sensitive. Show all posts
Thursday, August 8, 2013
Thursday, August 1, 2013
Applebee's -Restaurant Series-
I
finally made it to Applebee's. Not only did we have a very pleasant
waitress, the entire restaurant was very accommodating to my needs. We
wanted the chips and they were out of the safe ones. Instead they made us
a fruit plate and made sure that it stayed clean. I was so happy that
they were able to make something for me for an appetizer. I managed to
get a copy of the gluten free menu and they have some impressive options that
are not available on some other menus. As with any and all restaurants
that are not completely gluten free you have to let the manager know that you
have an allergy. The manager in fact was thankful that I let her know.
People will not tell them and then get sick since the food is made in the
normal area. Some people don't even ask for a gluten free menu, they come
in knowing what they want. How is the kitchen staff supposed to know to
take care with the food if they do not know that there is an issue? They
normally find out when they get a complaint to corporate that someone got sick
off of a gluten free item.
Monday, July 29, 2013
Pillsbury Gluten Free Dough -Review-
This is a personal review and not one where I was given a product.
However, I have found a product that I feel strongly enough about to
share.
When I ran across the Pillsbury gluten
free products in the cold section of the grocery store I was confused and very
happy. Gluten free chocolate chip cookie dough, thin crust pizza dough
and pie crust. I had to pick up each one and give them a shot.
Labels:
Celiac,
cookies,
crust,
dough,
Gluten free,
Gluten sensitive,
Pie,
Pillsbury,
Pizza,
product,
review
Thursday, July 18, 2013
Outback Steakhouse -restaurant series-
We
went to outback this month for my mother in laws birthday. Having been there
prior to this I knew to ask for a manager. The reason you have to talk to
the manager is even though they do offer an extensive gluten free menu.
They have no real accommodations for those with Celiac. This means they
use different cooking styles, gloves, and the salad has to be made in a
different location. This can only be assured of by the manager.
Make sure that you let the manager know that this is not a lifestyle
choice but that you really do have an issue with gluten. This will ensure
that there is a lot more care taken with your food.
Monday, July 15, 2013
GF Chicken Nuggets
1/2 cup Gluten Free
Bisquick
1/3 cup crushed rice
chex
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese
grated (or toasted GF Bread crumbs)
1 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp garlic salt (or
salt)
1/2 tsp red pepper
(optional)
1/2 tsp chili powder
(optional)
1 tsp sriracha
(optional)
3 chicken breasts cut
into ½ inch cubes (or other fun shapes)
2 eggs lightly beaten
(or egg substitute)
3 tablespoons of butter
(or butter substitute) melted
Labels:
Bisquick,
Celiac,
Chex,
Chicken,
Child,
Dinner,
Gluten free,
Gluten sensitive,
Idea,
Meal,
Nuggets,
Spicy
Sunday, July 7, 2013
Sneaky Gluten Containing Foods (repost)
Sneaky Gluten containing foods:
Everyone with Celiac knows to avoid things with wheat, barley or rye. However, there are things that are sneaky. Foods such as the basic soy sauce contain large quantities of gluten.
Sauces: For soy sauces, use ones marked gluten free or ones that have never contained them. La Choy Soy sauce doesn't contain gluten and costs the same as regular soy sauces. Watch things like Worcestershire, Teriyaki, BBQ, ketchup, mustard, liquid smoke and many others. Some do use gluten while others do not. Also watch flavored Mayo's.
Flavoring: Vanilla, Almond, lemon and such can contain gluten. Carefully read the ingredients. It does not need to be marked gluten free but it does need to be checked.
Tea: Yes regular in a bag or loose leaf tea may contain gluten. Why? This is a question that has never been answered for me. I found this one out the hard way. Watch Celestial seasoning and Bigelow as they have gluten in some of their flavors.
Candy: Everyone should know to stay away from anything with cookies in it. However, licorice, some caramels, hard candies and those types should be checked. For example Werther's original do contain gluten and should not be eaten by those with celiac. They hide it in the type of syrup used.
Ice Cream: Blue bunny and some others contain gluten and should be watched carefully. The only ones nearly guaranteed to not contain gluten are Sherbet and Gelato. Avoid anything with cookies or cookie dough, also some candy bar flavors.
Alcohol: Everyone should have figured out that most beer contains Gluten; however did you know that flavored vodka can have gluten in it as well. It is true that most distilled alcohol is gluten free but that doesn't mean they cannot add it for flavor later. Also avoid wine coolers and flavored beverages as they tend to use malt.
Everyone with Celiac knows to avoid things with wheat, barley or rye. However, there are things that are sneaky. Foods such as the basic soy sauce contain large quantities of gluten.
Sauces: For soy sauces, use ones marked gluten free or ones that have never contained them. La Choy Soy sauce doesn't contain gluten and costs the same as regular soy sauces. Watch things like Worcestershire, Teriyaki, BBQ, ketchup, mustard, liquid smoke and many others. Some do use gluten while others do not. Also watch flavored Mayo's.
Flavoring: Vanilla, Almond, lemon and such can contain gluten. Carefully read the ingredients. It does not need to be marked gluten free but it does need to be checked.
Tea: Yes regular in a bag or loose leaf tea may contain gluten. Why? This is a question that has never been answered for me. I found this one out the hard way. Watch Celestial seasoning and Bigelow as they have gluten in some of their flavors.
Candy: Everyone should know to stay away from anything with cookies in it. However, licorice, some caramels, hard candies and those types should be checked. For example Werther's original do contain gluten and should not be eaten by those with celiac. They hide it in the type of syrup used.
Ice Cream: Blue bunny and some others contain gluten and should be watched carefully. The only ones nearly guaranteed to not contain gluten are Sherbet and Gelato. Avoid anything with cookies or cookie dough, also some candy bar flavors.
Alcohol: Everyone should have figured out that most beer contains Gluten; however did you know that flavored vodka can have gluten in it as well. It is true that most distilled alcohol is gluten free but that doesn't mean they cannot add it for flavor later. Also avoid wine coolers and flavored beverages as they tend to use malt.
Monday, June 10, 2013
Restaurant Series #2 Jason's Deli
Jason's
Deli was one of the first places I went to when I became gluten free. I
remembered that they had a gluten free menu and I was right, they had a great one with so many options. However, there is a large
issue with this location and it's one they will bring up themselves.
Tuesday, May 28, 2013
Restaurant Series #1 GoodieVille
Goodieville is located in Missoula, Montana. Everything served in the restaurant is gluten free. They do not use anything with gluten in it. This restaurant is completely safe for those with Celiac. While Gluten free restaurants are a new thing, this doesn't mean they are not starting to pop up. Goodieville is the first completely gluten free restaurant that I have been to. I was so excited to go and have lunch at this location.
Monday, March 4, 2013
Risk and Rewards: Eating out With Celiac
Monday, February 25, 2013
Gluten Issues are Genetic
For most of you with a gluten issue or Celiac you may not know that someone in your family also has the issue. Gluten intolerance is not new nor is it just occurring. However, before five years ago almost nothing was known about this issue. As scientists and doctors have learned more they have found that this is something that you inherit from a family member. So that means that someplace, someone in your family has the same issues. Or in my case most of my family has this issue.
Labels:
Celiac,
Chromosome 6,
DNA,
family,
Genes,
Genetic,
Gluten,
Gluten intolerance,
Gluten sensitive,
HLA,
Protein
Thursday, February 21, 2013
Tips on how to eat out safely!
![]() |
This Image is Public Domain. |
When you sit down ask for the allergy menu and specify that it is an allergy.
If you still feel unsure that they will get your Order right ask to speak to the manager before you order.
When you order your meal make sure you specify that it is an allergy and have them write it down.
Tuesday, February 19, 2013
The First Month of your Gluten Free Diet
The first two weeks to a month of your new gluten free diet are critical.
This is the time when your body is just starting to heal and you are just
starting to drop your addiction to gluten and gluten containing products.
It is also the time where a lot of people screw up. You may not know that
you are still eating gluten. Check this post to find out what can sneak
gluten in Sneaky
gluten containing foods.
Labels:
addiction,
advice,
Beauty,
Celiac,
Change,
cleaning,
Corn,
detox,
Diet,
Gluten free,
Gluten intolerance,
Gluten sensitive,
How To,
kitchen,
Lifestyle,
Month
Friday, February 15, 2013
Newly Diagnosed with Celiac? What is next?
(Flashback post)
What do I do now? This is a question I have helped a few people with. What are you supposed to do when the blood tests come back as having Celiac, gluten sensitivity or gluten intolerance? What steps should you be taking?
Labels:
advice,
Barley,
Cast Iron,
Celiac,
Cooking utensils,
Diagnosis,
Gluten,
Gluten free,
Gluten intolerance,
Gluten sensitive,
Health,
nutrition,
Rye,
Second opinion,
Tolerance,
Vitamins,
Wheat
Friday, December 7, 2012
Gluten issues and restaurant or party etiquette
As the holidays approach and many of us are invited to go out to eat or to
join others in the festivities, one starts to wonder, what are the socially acceptable
behaviors during these events if you have Celiac, gluten sensitivity, or gluten
intolerant.
If you are invited to a regular party (not a dinner or lunch party) ask the host what type of food will be served during the party. If you find that there is nothing you can eat, ask if you can bring your own food. Most people will have no issue with this, or they will offer to get you something that you can eat. If the host refuses to let you bring something for yourself it is perfectly all right to go and only stay for a short time.
At a dinner or lunch party, make sure the host is aware of your issues. If the host/ess, is aware and not able or unwilling to accommodate your needs, ask if you can bring yourself something to eat. If the host says no, then you should probably decline the invitation. There is no point in going to a meal where you will be unable to eat. I have had experienced this before and it leaves one feeling left out at the least. Having attended parties like this, where I could not eat anything, I end up feeling rather angry, depressed, and sorry for myself at the same time. This is not how one should feel when leaving a party of any type.
Work or business parties: This one is tricky, since there will most likely be nothing you can eat, and you really can't talk to the host about your needs. In this case, try sticking to salad or something small and then go out to eat afterwards. That is what I will be doing tonight. I know I will be unable to eat the food and yet for my husband I will be going anyways. I am going to snack before the party and then my husband is going to take me to a gluten free place of my choice afterwards.
Restaurants that have two stars or below: Before you go to a restaurant, the first thing you should probably do is look online for their gluten free options, if any. There should be something on the menu that is gluten free. If the restaurant offers an extensive gluten free menu, then you should order off of that. If the restaurant offers gluten free options, but does not have a gluten free menu, then they should allow you to bring in your own bread or buns (if needed). For example when going to a place like Red Robin, I don't need to worry about bringing my own buns since they provide one. When going to Denny's I bring my own bread, and am very careful about what I order. You will have to assemble your food outside of the kitchen if you bring your own gluten-free bread, because health regulations do not allow outside food in their kitchen.
Restaurants that have two stars and above: Call ahead to these places, and let them know that you have a gluten allergy. Since many of these places don't have a set menu, or at least an online menu, you should be able to get gluten free recommendations over the phone. If you can get the menu online do so first. Also, a lot of these places don't allow you to bring in your own food. However, I don't think you will need to bring in your own food.
For those that have extreme Celiac, it is best in all cases to bring your own food, and to only eat at places with a gluten free menu and a separate gluten free kitchen. Know where you are going to eat first, or decline the offers if you cannot bring your own food. This may seem rude, but your health comes first and no one likes to be sick after a party.
If you are invited to a regular party (not a dinner or lunch party) ask the host what type of food will be served during the party. If you find that there is nothing you can eat, ask if you can bring your own food. Most people will have no issue with this, or they will offer to get you something that you can eat. If the host refuses to let you bring something for yourself it is perfectly all right to go and only stay for a short time.
At a dinner or lunch party, make sure the host is aware of your issues. If the host/ess, is aware and not able or unwilling to accommodate your needs, ask if you can bring yourself something to eat. If the host says no, then you should probably decline the invitation. There is no point in going to a meal where you will be unable to eat. I have had experienced this before and it leaves one feeling left out at the least. Having attended parties like this, where I could not eat anything, I end up feeling rather angry, depressed, and sorry for myself at the same time. This is not how one should feel when leaving a party of any type.
Work or business parties: This one is tricky, since there will most likely be nothing you can eat, and you really can't talk to the host about your needs. In this case, try sticking to salad or something small and then go out to eat afterwards. That is what I will be doing tonight. I know I will be unable to eat the food and yet for my husband I will be going anyways. I am going to snack before the party and then my husband is going to take me to a gluten free place of my choice afterwards.
Restaurants that have two stars or below: Before you go to a restaurant, the first thing you should probably do is look online for their gluten free options, if any. There should be something on the menu that is gluten free. If the restaurant offers an extensive gluten free menu, then you should order off of that. If the restaurant offers gluten free options, but does not have a gluten free menu, then they should allow you to bring in your own bread or buns (if needed). For example when going to a place like Red Robin, I don't need to worry about bringing my own buns since they provide one. When going to Denny's I bring my own bread, and am very careful about what I order. You will have to assemble your food outside of the kitchen if you bring your own gluten-free bread, because health regulations do not allow outside food in their kitchen.
Restaurants that have two stars and above: Call ahead to these places, and let them know that you have a gluten allergy. Since many of these places don't have a set menu, or at least an online menu, you should be able to get gluten free recommendations over the phone. If you can get the menu online do so first. Also, a lot of these places don't allow you to bring in your own food. However, I don't think you will need to bring in your own food.
For those that have extreme Celiac, it is best in all cases to bring your own food, and to only eat at places with a gluten free menu and a separate gluten free kitchen. Know where you are going to eat first, or decline the offers if you cannot bring your own food. This may seem rude, but your health comes first and no one likes to be sick after a party.
Thursday, October 18, 2012
Celiac, gluten intolerant or Gluten Sensitive?
Celiac disease, Gluten Intolerance or Gluten sensitive
are often used interchangeably, there is a difference between them.
With Celiac and Gluten Intolerance there is internal damage
however, the difference is smaller than that between the two. Those with
Celiac will have a reaction in the immune system. For example I have issues
with my IG-A levels. That means that Gluten intolerant or Celiac can both
lead to changed intestinal permeability as well as damage to the linings of the
intestinal tract. The outward symptoms of all of these issues can be
exactly the same which can often lead to confusion about if it is celiac, Gluten sensitivity or if
it is Gluten intolerance.
- Weight loss or weight gain
- Nutritional deficiencies due to malabsorption—e.g., low iron levels
- Gastrointestinal problems (bloating, pain, gas, constipation, diarrhea)
- Fat in the stools (due to poor digestion)
- Aching joints
- Depression
- Eczema /rashes
- Headaches
- Exhaustion
- Irritability and behavioral changes
- Infertility, irregular menstrual cycle and miscarriage
- Cramps, tingling and numbness
- Slow infant and child growth
- Decline in dental health
These can show up equally in all 3 types of gluten
issues. However, there is only true intestinal damage in Gluten
Intolerance and Celiac and only immune issues with Celiac.
All three of these issues can lead to further issues such as
Diabetes, anemia, and osteoporosis and if you have any of the above symptoms of
the listed issues it might be a good idea to get checked for a reaction to
gluten.
Issues often misdiagnosed as celiac are Crohn’s disease,
chronic fatigue, iron deficiency, irritable bowel syndrome and intestinal
infections can all have similar symptoms. A few recent studies have shown that
there is a correlation between gluten issues and the listed issues. A
correlation and not yet any causation however, the studies are still young.
How are these issues developed?
That is a good question that is still being worked
out. Some studies have shown that Stress can cause this issue, others
have shown that it has to do with the amount of gluten that was eaten by the
mother during pregnancy or how early a child is introduced to gluten.
Other studies have suggested that there is a strong genetic link to those who
can tolerate gluten and those that cannot.
My personal beliefs are that there is a genetic link.
The reason for this thought is the massive amount of those with celiac, gluten intolerance,
and gluten sensitivity in my family. I have one of those strange families
that would take a very long time to explain so I am not going into details however;
almost every female and enough males in my family have the issues with
gluten.
It also may be a combination of things which is the reason
finding the true cause of this is so hard.
So much is still not known about Celiac, gluten intolerance,
and gluten sensitivity since it is still in its infancy of being
understood. All of the above information is as correct as of the time of
writing this post. However, six months or a year from now this may
change. There is still so much to learn about gluten issues and those
that suffer from them.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)